XXIV Squadron Commanding Officers

Commanding Officers of 24 Squadron

Capt. A G Moore

1 Sep 1915

Maj. L G Hawker

29 Sep 1915

Maj. C E Rabagliati

29 Nov 1916

Maj. A G Moore

23 Mar 1917

Maj. J G Swart

22 Aug 1917

Maj. V A H Robeson

2 Feb 1918

Sqn Ldr E H Johnston

1 Apr 1920

Sqn Ldr O T Boyd

23 Oct 1922

Sqn Ldr R S Maxwell

22 Oct 1923

Sqn Ldr W H L O'Neill

27 Aug 1925

Sqn Ldr S N Cole

20 Sep 1927

Sqn Ldr D S Don

20 Mar 1929

Sqn Ldr J Whitford

3 Oct 1931

Sqn Ldr H K Goode

1 Dec 1935

Wg Cdr J Anderson

Jun 1939

Wg Cdr H K Goode

Oct 1939

Wg Cdr H G Lee

Apr 1941

Wg Cdr P M W Wright

Jun 1941

Wg Cdr H B Collins

Jun 1942

Wg Cdr T H Archbell

Sep 1944

Wg Cdr E L A Walter

Oct 1945

Wg Cdr C W K Nicholls

Sept 1946

Wg Cdr P H Lombard

Mar 1948

Wg Cdr C F Read (RAAF)

Mar 1950

Sqn Ldr H A Nash

Dec 1950

Maj. J N Robbs (SAAF)

Oct 1951

Sqn Ldr J L Kerr

Oct 1953

Sqn Ldr R B Bolt (RNZAF)

Sep 1955

Sqn Ldr M M Mair

Feb 1957

Wg Cdr D W Hitchins (RAAF)

Oct 1957

Wg Cdr H D Archer

Oct 1959

Wg Cdr R B Sillars

Nov 1961

Wg Cdr R T Saunders

Nov 1963

Wg Cdr G Moss

Jan 1966

Wg Cdr J E H Tetley

Jan 1968

Wg Cdr R D Bates

Jul 1970

Wg Cdr M J Hardy

Jul 1972

Wg Cdr C E Evans

Jul 1974

Wg Cdr M C A Davis

Feb 1976

Wg Cdr K Chapman

Aug 1978

Wg Cdr D R Jones

Oct 1980

Wg Cdr C J M Carrington

Mar 1983

Wg Cdr R M Peach

Jun 1985

Wg Cdr D B Farquhar

Dec 1987

Wg Cdr R D Iredale

Apr 1990

Wg Cdr M D Stringer

Oct 1992

Wg Cdr R M Bailey

Jun 1995

Wg Cdr P N Oborn

Apr 1998

Wg Cdr R Hobson

Aug 2000

Wg Cdr K Groves Jun 2003
Wg Cdr D Turnbull Oct 2005
Wg Cdr A Bacon Jun 2008
Wg Cdr P Cochrane Nov 2010
Wg Cdr T Jones Feb 2011
Wg Cdr D James Dec 2012
Wg Cdr D Rawlins Jan 2015
Wg Cdr G Burdett Apr 2017




Please do get in touch if you served on the Squadron, or are related to someone who did, we would especially like to hear from you.

If you have a story to tell about No.XXIV Squadron RAF please contact us by mailing the Editor the24secretary at royalairforce dot net

This page Updated 14 April, 2017
Contact our Webmaster with any comments or suggestions by email : the24secretary at royalairforce dot net